Herbert a semifinalist for Davey O’Brien QB award

Oregon's Justin Herbert drops back to pass against Stanford during the third quarter an NCAA college football game Saturday, Sept. 22, 2018, in Eugene, Ore. (AP Photo/Chris Pietsch)

EUGENE, Ore. - Oregon junior quarterback Justin Herbert has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

The honor, presented each year to the best college quarterback, is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

Herbert, a graduate of Sheldon High School in Eugene, has thrown a touchdown pass in 24 consecutive games, the longest streak in the nation.

He has already been named a Maxwell Award semifinalist and is on the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and Manning Award watch lists.

Herbert's 22 touchdown passes ranks 2nd in the Pac-12 and 11th nationally.

So far this season, he has completed 59 percent of his passes - 173 of 292 - for 2,333 yards.

And Oregon has scored 40 points in 12 of Herbert's 24 career starts.

In the win over UCLA, Herbert became the fastest player in Oregon football history to reach 6,000 career passing yards in terms of starts.

Other Davey O’Brien semifinalists include:

  • Ian Book, Notre Dame, Jr.
  • Mason Fine, North Texas, Jr.
  • Ryan Finley, NC State, Sr.
  • Jake Fromm, Georgia, So.
  • Will Grier, West Virginia, Sr.
  • Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State, So.
  • Justin Herbert, Oregon, Jr.
  • D’Eriq King, Houston, Jr.
  • Trevor Lawrence, Clemson, Fr.
  • Jordan Love, Utah State, So.
  • Marcus McMaryion, Fresno State, Sr.
  • McKenzie Milton, UCF, Jr.
  • Gardner Minshew, Washington State, Sr.
  • Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, Jr.
  • Shea Patterson, Michigan, Jr.
  • Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama, So.
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off