'Bennys' award winners at OSU

Corvallis - Oregon State University football player Jordan Poyer and gymnast Makayla Stambaugh took home the top honors at the 15th annual Bennys Thursday night at Gill Coliseum. The event is an end-of-the-year celebration commemorating the achievements of student-athletes at OSU.

Poyer, who was drafted by the Philadelphia Eagles in April's NFL Draft, wrapped up his incredible career by being selected a consensus All-American and a Pac-12 First Team honoree. He was semifinalist for two national awards.

Stambaugh enjoyed one of the best individual seasons in OSU gymnastics history with 22 individual titles, including the Pac-12 Championship on the uneven bars and tying for the Regional title on the floor exercise. She also set a conference record by being named the Pac-12 Gymnast of the Week four consecutive times.

Baseball and gymnastics were selected Teams of the Year. Baseball won the Pac-12 Conference title and was ranked among the top teams in the country for the entire year. Gymnastics captured the Pac-12 title in thrilling fashion and advanced to the NCAA Regionals. It was the fifth time baseball has been honored as the team of the year and the 11th occasion for gymnastics.

Pat Casey took home the Benny for Male Sport Coach of the Year, for the fourth time, after recently being voted Pac-12 Baseball Coach of the Year. Gymnastics' Tanya Chaplin shared Female Sport Coach of the Year with softball's Laura Berg. Chaplin brought home hardware for the seventh time while Berg earned the award in her first season after leading the team to the NCAA Tournament.

Isaac Seumalo of the football team and Andrew Moore of the baseball team shared the Joe Zaher Male Newcomer of the Year award. Seumalo was OSU's first freshman starting center since 1978 and was selected to several Freshman All-America teams, and to the Pac-12 Honorable Mention squad by the league's coaches. Moore led the Pac-12 with 13 victories and posted a 1.22 earned run average to be named the league's Freshman of the Year.

Natalie Hampton of softball and Sammy Harrison of swimming were co-recipients of the Female Newcomer of the Year. Hampton broke the school record for single season RBI in helping the Beavers advance to the NCAAs. She had 50 RBI and tied the school record for home runs with 15. Harrison qualified for the NCAA Championships in two events and became the school record holder in the 1,000 free and the 1,650 free - where she shattered OSU's best previous mark by 10 seconds - and tied the school record in the 500-free.

Quarterback Cody Vaz and pitcher Matt Boyd each earned a Benny for Male Performance of the Year. Vaz made his first collegiate start one to remember as he led the Beavers to a road victory at BYU passing for 332 yards and three touchdowns, and earned Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week for his efforts. Boyd struck out a career-high 11 Sun Devils on his way to a 1-hit complete game victory over No. 20 Arizona State at Goss Stadium, marking the fewest hits by ASU in one game since 1983.

Camille Saxton of the volleyball team was selected with the top Female Performance of the Year. She posted a career-best 23 kills as the Beavers upset No. 2 Penn State in Chicago. The Canadian also had seven digs and two blocks in the five set victory.

The Robert Byers Spirit Award was presented to Steven Christian (football) andLauren Graebner (track). Christian hosted the Artistic Beavers event in April for local citizens and the OSU community to display their talents while Graebner has been chosen one of five finalists nationwide for an award for her part in designing a scarf that is designed for Muslim women as well as for a greater fashion audience

EmilyAnne Pillari (rowing) and Alexa Ortiz (rowing) shared the Glenn Klein Community Service Benny. Pillari has started her own non-profit organization (For the Children) with the goal of improving the health status and standards for children around the world. Ortiz has contributed over 200 hours toward various veterinary causes and has been nominated for the John Wooden Citizenship Award, presented nationally to the student-athlete who is the most outstanding role model .

Men's soccer and volleyball captured the Everyday Champion Team Academic Award Benny. Steve Simmons' soccer team boasts a 3.12 cumulative GPA to lead the men's intercollegiate sports programs at OSU and Taras Liskevvch's volleyball team has a 3.43 to pace the women's teams.

Kenneth Noteboom, a 1959 OSU graduate, was presented the Martin Chaves Lifetime Achievement Award. A four-year OSU wrestling letterman and president of his senior class, Noteboom created and co-chairs a Blue Ribbon Committee designed to ensure the perpetuity of the storied 103-year-old Beaver wrestling program. Noteboom also organized class reunions for 45 years, and co-chaired the Class of 1959 Golden Jubilee Committee that raised funds for the CH2M HILL Alumni Center labyrinth highlighting key OSU events, plus an endowed scholarship: the first class to make two 50th reunion gifts. A retired banker, Marine, and former president of the Albany and Junction City Chambers of Commerce and the Albany Boys and Girls Club, Ken and his wife, Ruth, live near Junction City.

Male Athlete of the Year: Jordan Poyer (football)
Female Athlete of the Year: Makayla Stambaugh (gymnastics)
Male Newcomer of the Year: Isaac Seumalo (football) and Andrew Moore (baseball)
Female Newcomer of the Year: Natalie Hampton (softball) and Sammy Harrison (swimming)
Male Performance of the Year: Cody Vaz (football) and Matt Boyd (baseball)
Female Performance of the Year: Camille Saxton (volleyball)
Male Sport Coach of the Year: Pat Casey (baseball)
Sport Coach of the Year: Laura Berg (softball) and Tanya Chaplin (gymnastics)
Male Team of the Year: Baseball
Female Team of the Year: Gymnastics
Robert Byers Spirit Award: Steven Christian (football), Lauren Graebner (track)
Glenn Klein Community Service Awards: EmilyAnne Pillari (rowing) & Alexa Ortiz (rowing)
Martin Chaves Lifetime Achievement Award: Ken Noteboom
Everyday Champions Team Academic Award: Men's Soccer and Volleyball
All-Americans: RJ Pena (wrestling), Scott Sakaguchi (wrestling), Taylor Meeks (wrestling), Jordan Poyer (football), Markus Wheaton (football), Isaac Seumalo (football), Scott Crichton (football), Makayla Stambaugh (gymnastics), Kelsi Blalock (gymnastics), Matt Boyd, (baseball), Andrew Moore (baseball)
NCAA Regional Champions: Makayla Stambaugh (gymnastics)
Pac-12 Champions: Mike Mangrum (wrestling), Taylor Meeks (wrestling), Chad Hanke (wrestling), Makayla Stambaugh (gymnastics), Melanie Jones (gymnastics)
Scholar Athletes of the Year: Travis Anderson (baseball), Kristen Carmichael (soccer), Katherine Gleffe (soccer), Lauren Graebner (track), Amy Herbst (swimming), Taylor Hunt (track), Elizabeth Lewis (rowing), Martie Massey (volleyball),
Stephanie McGregor (gymnastics), Alyssa O' Neil (volleyball), Alexa Ortiz (rowing), Jacob Parker (soccer), Hilary Polis (rowing), Amanda Rose (swimming), Ashley Sanchez (softball).