DMV: Oregon vehicle registration fee increasing from $86 to $112 after January 1

Set to renew your tags? Prices go up Jan. 1, 2018. (via Oregon DMV)

EUGENE, Ore. - Vehicle registration fees go up January 1.

The fee for renewing a 2-year vehicle registration will go from $86 to $112, the Oregon DMV said.

And you can't pay early: "The registration fee is based on the vehicle registration renewal date, not when the fee is paid," DMV said in a statement.

The increase fees are part of House Bill 2017, the transportation plan passed by the legislature and signed into law by the governor.

Also going up: Motor fuel taxes, and fees for title transfers and commercial motor vehicles.

The bill also created a 0.5 percent privilege tax on new vehicle purchases, and a $15 fee on new adult bicycles that cost $200 or more.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off