Lancers lose to Jefferson in 5A title game

EUGENE, Ore. (AP) - Victor Sanders had 22 points and five rebounds and Jefferson rallied from a five-point deficit at the start of the fourth-quarter to defeat Churchill 59-53 for the OSAA Class 5A boys championship at Matthew Knight Arena on Saturday night.

Silas Melson and Devaunte Paschal added nine points apiece and Hayden Hall scored all of his nine points in the final five minutes for Jefferson (24-4), which won its fourth state title in the past six years.

Keidren Johnson had 13 points and David Shedrick 11 points and nine rebounds for Churchill (23-5), of Eugene.

Jefferson, which trailed 41-36 entering the fourth quarter, outscored Churchill 14-5 in the last three minutes to claim its seventh state title.

Both teams entered the game undefeated against 5A competition this season. It was a rematch of the 1995 4A championship game won by Churchill.

Jefferson, of Portland, scored the first six points of the second half - the first four by Sanders - to pull even. Sanders, a senior forward, gave the Democrats their first lead since the first quarter with two free throws to make it 36-34 with 2:12 left in the third period.

Churchill came back with a 7-0 run. Smith scored the last five points to put the Lancers ahead 41-36 after three quarters.

Jefferson kept it close early in the fourth then tied it at 45-all on Hall's free throw with 4:32 remaining.

Hall gave the Democrats the lead back at 47-46 on a medium-range jumper with 2:58 left. Hall added two free throws with 1:57 remaining for a three-point advantage.

Churchill shot 20 of 48 (41.7 percent) overall, while Jefferson was 16 of 42 (38.1). The Lancers had a 29-26 rebounding edge, but also had more turnovers (12-8).

Jefferson won three straight 5A titles from 2008 to 2010, the first under Marshall Haskins and the next two under current head coach Pat Strickland.

It was the third state title game appearance for Churchill coach Kelly Bokn, who coached Redmond to a 4A boys championship in 2003 then lost in the championship game with Redmond in 2004.

Churchill trailed 9-5 early before running off 10 straight points. Four different Lancers scored during the run, with DeShone Brooks' layin finishing it for a 15-9 Churchill lead.

Sanders cut the Jefferson deficit to three with a 3-pointer just before the first-quarter buzzer.

The teams traded scores throughout the second quarter before Jefferson scored four straight points to close within 24-21. Churchill answered with five in a row, including an Andrew Smith 3-pointer, and led 29-23 at halftime behind Johnson's nine points.

Sanders and Melson was joined on the all-tournament first team along with Churchill's Emanuel Morgan and Malik Morgan and Silverton's Zach Gengler.